Hi there! I hope you are having a beautiful weekend.

I spent the last couple of days visiting Washington DC, what a beautiful city! I had to go there for a short visit to the Embassy and it was nice to get to spend some time in the city. Washington is one of my favorite cities, I really like the vibe there, the people, the buildings, the Mall, the museums, the new buildings, and the restaurants!

I had the opportunity to visit an exhibition going on at the Smithsonian: Yoga, the art of transformation (http://asia.si.edu/exhibitions/current/yoga.asp). I found it really interesting. It amazes me to know that this practice that we think as ‘physical’ nowadays started so long ago as a way to seek enlightenment. Of course I enjoy the physical practice but I still value the spiritual aspects. Yoga has given me a way to find peace when I feel stressed out or worried. The exhibition features several sculptures and paintings. I was profoundly touched by one painting depicting two yoginis, an older woman teaching or talking to a younger woman. It was so beautiful, I wish I could have gotten a postcard from that (no photography allowed and there weren’t prints or postcards to buy ;-( I guess the emotion in that moment was the gratitude to all my mentors, teachers, and researcher colleagues, that have been so influential in my life and have supported me to move forward and do well with the hope to help others. I remembered my PhD adviser, my postdoc adviser, other very inspiring mentors and colleagues, and my yoga teachers! I also had the feeling that I can be the older yogini, or mentor and I saw myself teaching students in the lab, in classes, mentoring students. That’s one very rewarding aspect of my work in science, get to mentor and teach students. Standing in front of this painting I saw myself as a seeker and as a giver… of knowledge, advice, and insight. For a moment it felt ‘transcendental’. I’m most of the time in the seeker mode, but when I get approached by students and colleagues seeking advice I feel humbly blessed, I love the opportunity to help others. Science has two amazing opportunities to give: in one side the experiments can give answers and we hope those answers are helpful for our society and the well being of people; in the other side, by sharing our experience and inspiring students and colleagues we increase our possibility to make a difference.

After the exhibition we headed to a tapas restaurant. We always like to hit a tapas place in our trips and this time we visited a new one in the DC area, Barcelona (http://www.barcelonawinebar.com/washingtondcres.htm). It was superb, ALL, the food, the service, the ambiance, the music, everything. We’ll be back! We had one of our favorite dishes, “gambas al ajillo” (garlic shrimp), it was brought to our table hot on a cast iron pan, just perfect!

Image

“Gambas al ajillo” at Barcelona, Washington DC.

 

We had other few “Mediterranean diet” dishes so to keep our mitochondria¬†happy ; -)

Next month we’ll have a Spanish friend visiting. In the drive back home we were talking about plans for his visit. It seems we will have a tapas dinner… It should be fun! I’ll keep you posted. In the meanwhile have an awesome weekend and if you are in the US Northeast area, stay warm ; -)

